Music Director Topher Mokrzewski in rehearsal with Miriam Khalil at BOUND, photo Darryl Block

For the third consecutive year, Against the Grain Theatre joins University of Toronto Opera to immerse emerging artists in a three-week program focusing on the exciting canon of modern-contemporary works and engaging workshops to expand the mind of the modern artist.

The NOI is meant to prioritize individual artistic needs in the middle of August when audition season is just around the corner. By looking at the hidden gems of opera’s 20th and 21st-century repertoire, AtG and UofT provide valuable insight to artists as they aim to develop modern opera repertoire. Against the Grain Theatre’s outside-the-box approach to traditional opera matched with UofT Opera’s educational excellence is quickly being established as a hub for singers to learn and perform.

In 2021, AtG and UofT Opera will explore a hybrid model of digital and in-person delivery of instruction. The program will take place from August 3rd through 19th, 2021. More information will be available on October 28th, 2020.


Contact with “[Your Full Name] + National Opera Intensive” in the subject line and a real human will reply ASAP.

As a graduate of this storied institution, my foundation for opera was built at UofT Opera. Our Executive Director, Robin Whiffen is also a graduate of UofT Voice and together we couldn’t be more thrilled to continue this relationship with Sandra Horst and Michael Patrick Albano.

Joel Ivany

This Summer Intensive is a well-thought out program, helping us to find the rhythm of lessons, practice and self-promotion any artist needs when navigating the business post-graduation. It’s was a pleasure to explore the realm of non-mainstream contemporary opera within this creative sphere!

Sarah Parkin, UK


MacMillan Theatre in the Edward Johnson Building
University of Toronto, Faculty of Music
80 Queens Park, Toronto, Ontario

National Opera Intensive Faculty

Voice Faculty

Catherine Daniel, Mezzo-Soprano
Miriam Khalil, Soprano
Elliot Madore, Baritone
Heidi Melton, Soprano

Music Faculty

Andrea Grant
Sandra Horst

Stage Direction/Acting Faculty

Michael Albano
Joel Ivany


2019 Alumni

Dani Agostino
Madison Angus
Anna Boyes
Alasdair Campbell
Julie Ekker
Jocelyn Fralick
Lauren Halasz
Nolan Kehlar
Christina Lanz
Virginie Mongeau
Amy Moodie
Brittany Rae
Morgan Reid
Stephanie Sedlbauer
Whitney Sloan
Carmen Sprecht
Caroline Stanczyk
Charlotte Stewart-Juby
McKenzie Warriner
Gwendolyn Yearwood

2018 Alumni

Madison Angus
Shaelyn Archibald
James Brown
Kallie Clayton
Gwenna Fairchild-Taylor
Jaclyn Grossman
Camille Holland
Meghan Jamison
Kieran Kane
Philip Klaasen
Janelle Lapalme
Emili Losier
Jonathan MacArthur
Julia Morson
Justine Owen
Annie Ramos
Jonelle Sills
Whitney Sloan
Rebecca Townsend
Gwendolyn Yearwood


Photos: Darryl Block Photography