Skip to main content
The multi-JUNO-nominated team at AtG Records is proud to release the digital album for BOUND.


The BOUND digital album is the soundtrack of the 2022 film. The creative score, composed by Kevin Lau with a libretto by Joel Ivany, features soprano Miriam Khalil, soprano Breanna Sinclairé, tenor Andrew Haji, and baritone Justin Welsh.

Lau takes inspiration from a medley of George Frideric Handel’s enduring works, utilizing them to fashion an innovative sonic journey, anchored with assurance by the mighty sounds of the Toronto Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Nathan Brock.

Buy the Album
Each download supports Against the Grain Theatre and the artists of BOUND.

More on the music

The musical canvas that Lau has stretched here for the singers and orchestra will have opera fans recognizing a number of segments from Handel’s iconic operas, oratorios, and melodies—Handel’s work emerged as a base for BOUND, which began as an exploratory AtG workshop in 2017, with singers choosing arias that resonated with them personally, and Lau adding creativity and deviations to Handel’s music. Parallels developed between the stories being told—lives which had deviated from what society expected them to be—and the deviations that Lau brought to Handel’s original scores. In BOUND, Lau enjoys the freedom to move around his source material, zooming in and out — plucking samples from Handel’s music to riff off — and creating something new in the musical journey, enhanced by the electronic design of Toronto DJ ACOTE (Jeff-Antoine Côté).




Composer: Kevin Lau
Film Directors: Reneltta Arluk & Joel Ivany
Conductor: Nathan Brock


Miriam Khalil – Soprano

Breanna Sinclairé – Soprano

Andrew Haji – Tenor

Justin Welsh – Baritone

Toronto Symphony Orchestra — ORCHESTRA

Eri Kosaka – (Assistant Principal Second Violin), Violin 1

Sergei Nikonov – Violin 1

Terry Holowach – Violin 1

Amalia Joanou-Canzoneri – Violin 1

Paul Meyer – Principal Second Violin 2

Douglas Kwon – Violin 2

Sydney Chun – Violin 2

James Wallenberg – Violin 2

Rémi Pelletier – Associate Principal Viola

Theresa Rudolph – Assistant Principal Viola

Joseph Johnson – Principal Cello

Winona Zelenka – Associate Principal Cello

Tim Dawson – Double Bass

Julie Ranti – Associate Principal Flute

Sarah Jeffrey – Principal Oboe

Miles Jaques – Clarinet

Darren Hicks – Associate Principal Bassoon

Joseph Kelly – Assistant Timpani

John Rudolph – Percussion

Gary Corrin – Principal Librarian

Andrew Harper – Substitute Librarian


Jeff-Antoine Cote – Digital Sound Design

Doug Doctor – Sound Design

ATG Team

Robin Whiffen – Executive Director

Andrew Adridge – Artistic Operations

Daevyd Pepper – Digital Marketing Management/Album Artwork

October 27, 2022

© 2022 Against the Grain Records

℗ 2022 Against the Grain Records


all rights reserved

Artist Biographies

Individual artist bios can be found on the BOUND film page.