Skip to main content

**Album artwork features a photo of Meher Pavri by Dylan Toombs**

**Sāvitri logo designed by Radhika Maheshwari**

The multi-JUNO-nominated team at AtG Records is proud to release the digital album for Sāvitri.

The sound of devotion.

The Sāvitri digital album is the soundtrack of the 2021 film of Gustav Holst’s chamber opera of the same name. It features soloists Meher Pavri, Andrew Haji, Vartan Gabrielian, a chorus of 8 singers and an ensemble of 12 musicians conducted by Simon Rivard.

Original Hindustani music played and composed by Arnab Chakrabarty (Sarod) and Shahbaz Hussain (Tabla) is featured at the beginning and end of the album.

About Sāvitri

A timeless story of love, devotion, and facing down death, based on the popular Hindu legend, Against the Grain Theatre’s cinematic release of Sāvitri premiered exactly 100 years to the day of the professional debut of this outdoor chamber opera by Gustav Holst.

Sāvitri chronicles the face-off between a powerful Indian princess who faces down Yama, the god of death to save her loved one.

Each download supports Against the Grain Theatre and the artists of Sāvitri.
Buy the Album


1. Arnab Chakrabarty – Prelude 

Run time: 07:20

2.Sāvitri! Sāvitri! I am Death

Run time: 04:30

3.Like a spectre of the forest

Run time: 03:02 

4.Love to the lover

Run time: 03:30 

5.I am with you

Run time: 05:43

6.Then enter, lord, dwell with me

Run time: 01:33

7.Give me life

Run time: 04:22

8. Death the just one

Run time: 02:17

9.Loneliness and pain are ended

Run time: 05:30

10.Arnab Chakrabarty, Shahbaz Hussain – Postlude 

Run time: 06:17



Composer: Gustav Holst
Film Director: Miriam Khalil
Associate Director: Simran Claire
Conductor: Simon Rivard


Sāvitri – Meher Pavri
Satyavān – Andrew Haji
Yama, God of Death – Vartan Gabrielian


Sarod prelude and postlude – Arnab Chakrabarty
Tabla postlude – Shahbaz Hussain

Quartet no. 1:
Marie Bérard, Violin I
Aaron Schwebel, Violin II
Rémi Pelletier, Viola
Winona Zelenka, Cello

Quartet no. 2:
Yolanda Bruno, Violin I
Amanda Goodburn, Violin II
Theresa Rudolf, Viola
Leana Rutt, Cello

Flute I
Les Allt

Flute II
Leslie Newman

English Horn
Mark Rogers

Tony Flynt


Madison Angus
Rebecca Gray
Juliana Krajčovič
Tiffanie Samuels

Renee Fajardo
Alex Hetherington
Carly Naimer
Jennifer Routhier


Sound Design & Engineering: Pouya Hamidi
Audio Producer: Martin MacDonald
Audio Assistant: Brandon Wells

Original Photography: Dylan Toombs
Cover Art Design: Kendra Miller
Logo: Radhika Maheshwari

AtG Board of Directors, AtG Collective, Marie Bérard, Johannes Debus, Amanda Hadi, Amil Ivany, Sammy Ivany, Umair Jaffar, Jonathan Kirby, Joshua Iannarelli, Joshua Knelman, Simon Lippett, Stephen Lippett, Victoria Lippett, Taylor Long, Midori Marsh, Elizabeth McDonald, Kendra Miller, Duncan Morgan, David Eliakis, Daevyd Pepper, Ashna Thaya, Sam Skynner, Small World Music

Recorded at Pie in the Sky Studios, Toronto, Ontario
© 2021 Against the Grain Records
℗ 2021 Against the Grain Records


all rights reserved

Artist Biographies

Individual artist bios can be found on the Sāvitri Page